The journey begins

Or, yet another new-year-inspired blog.

Super original, right? Just what the internet needed!

Never mind that. Here I am. Typing away by the glow of my laptop screen, recording my progress towards a number of mostly ill-defined goals for the new year. Because when I’m at loose ends, that’s what I do. I write.

And 2016 left me with an abundance of strings just begging to be tugged to see what might unravel.

I’ll spare you the lament over the shitstorm known as 2016. You’ve heard all about it by now, I’m sure. While my journey is unique, the winds that buffet me and lead me to adjust course are the same winds being felt far and wide.

Like so many others, they caught me unawares.

In 2016, I achieved a lifelong goal – finally completing my degree, not in the imminently practical field I chose as an 18-year-old looking for a steady paycheck but in the discipline I’ve felt called to ever since I first learned to read. And my timing was impeccable.

After all, who wouldn’t want to be a journalist right now?

I say that with only the barest dose of sarcasm. Sure, the jobs are few and far between. And the term “post-fact” recently burst onto the scene, calling the very notion of an informed populace into question. And we’re just days away from the swearing in of a president who has expressed previously unfathomable disdain for the freedom of the press.

But there’s just so much that needs to be written!

So in a nutshell, that’s me. Heading into 2017, looking for my first post-graduation job in a difficult field to break into, while being dragged kicking and screaming – figuratively speaking, most of the time – out of my little bubble into deeper engagement with the world.

And this is the chronicle of the journey, where ever it may take me.

Leave a Reply

